web analytics

After what might seem like an eternity, and just in time for the 50th anniversary, episodes from both the classic and reboot Doctor Who

series have arrived at Hulu Plus. And that’s not all.

Doctor Who
Doctor Who © BBC, Courtesy of Hulu Plus

The TARDIS has landed on Hulu Plus, the Doctor is saving Earthlings and other beings from intergalactic baddies, and all is right with the world.

Seventy-five episodes from Classic Doctor Who are available for streaming on Hulu Plus now, including multi-episode stories featuring the First Doctor through the Fifth (William Hartnell, Patrick Troughton, Jon Pertwee, Tom Baker, Peter Davison) and the Seventh (Sylvester McCoy). Why there are no episodes with Sixth Doctor Colin Baker or Doctor Who: The Movie with Paul McGann is anyone’s guess, but still. Some are better than none.

From the reboot Doctor Who are 96 episodes from Series One through Series Seven, Part One, starring Christopher Eccleston, David Tennant and Matt Smith as the Ninth, Tenth and Eleventh Doctor, respectively, and including all of the Doctor Who specials from “The Christmas Invasion” to “The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe.”

Also available are three Doctor Who’s Greatest Moments specials — “The Doctor,” “The Companions,” and “The Enemies” — plus the two official Doctor Who animated serials, “The Infinite Quest” and “Dreamland.”

When will Hulu Plus have Series Seven, Part Two? I don’t know. Ditto if you’re wondering about the animated Doctor Who: Scream of the Shalka, which, quite frankly, is a missing for me. Be that as it may, it’s fantastic that Hulu Plus has added much of Doctor Who to its library of British television programs.

Torchwood © BBC Courtesy of Hulu Plus

For fans of the Doctor Who spin-offs, these, too, are now available for streaming on Hulu Plus. They include all 26 episodes from Series One and Two of Torchwood, plus the five-episode third series Torchwood: Children of the Earth, and 47 episodes from Series One through Four of The Sarah Jane Adventures.

The Sarah Jane Adventures
The Sarah Jane Adventures © BBC, Courtesy of Hulu Plus

We shall see if Hulu Plus adds the fourth and final Torchwood: Miracle Day series and the fifth and final Sarah Jane series (which was cut short due to Elisabeth Sladen’s illness and then death in 2011). Note that Series One of The Sarah Jane Adventures is available on Hulu for free through 17 October 2013.




Doctor Who Now Streaming on Hulu Plus
Tagged on: